Note: Appointments to all Authorities, Boards, Commissions and Committees are made by Meadville City Council or the representative municipality. *Please contact the City Clerk for information on becoming an authority or board member.


This advisory committee examines aesthetic issues in the City. The Committee selects Homer A. Thornton Award winners from time to time for properties that have made significant beautification improvements. They administer the Eels Trust to enhance the right of ways and public properties, as they see fit.
Meetings first Monday of each month at 8:00 a.m.  - if a holiday, meeting will be the following Monday. Meetings held at 894 Diamond Park.

3 Year
Inactive Committee at this time.


Responsible for all health issues in the City as prescribed by the Third Class City Code, the Pennsylvania Department of Health and the Ordinances of the City of Meadville. The Health Officer is the agent for the Board of Health. Meeting annually at 894 Diamond Park.  

Meadville City Council


This three member commission was established to insure the maintenance of a personnel system to recruit, employ, promote and retain qualified persons for employment with the City of Meadville. This commission is responsive to the principles of equal opportunity employment and sound labor management relations. Meetings when necessary at 894 Diamond Park.

4 Year
Tim Geibel 
Luis L. Gomez, M.D., Vice-Chairperson 
Richard Friedberg, Chairperson


This six member board sits for appeals of orders issued by the Code Official based on the construction codes and property maintenance codes. Meetings when necessary at 850 Park Avenue.

3 Year
(Replaces Fire Board of Appeals and Building Code Board of Appeals - 11-12-91)
Robert Frost (Regular)
Ashley Porter (Regular)
Roger Gildea (Regular)
Dalton Deeter (Alternate)
Pete Kralj  (Alternate)
Dean Conrad (Alternate)


This five member authority provides public housing assistance programs to low income and senior citizens within the City of Meadville. It operates William Gill Village, Holland Towers, Elmwood and Morgan Villages. An Executive Director oversees the day to day operations and staff. Meetings the second Monday of each month at 2:00 p.m. at Holland Towers.

5 Year
Richard H. Zinn
Sonya Logan 
James Rozakis
J. Maxwell Holt
Tom Youngblood


This five member committee is in charge of overseeing the conditions at the historic landmark and making recommendations for repairs and maintenance.  The committee will meet the first Wednesday of each month at 9:00 a.m. at 894 Diamond Park.

5 Year Term
Josh Sherretts
Bob Stainbrook
Diane Siegel
Suzanne Malone
Annette Baswell


This seven member authority is responsible for directing the operations, management and promotion of the historic Meadville Market House. The Meadville Market Master is responsible for the day to day management and operations of the Market House. Meetings the second Wednesday of each month  8:00 a.m. at 894 Diamond Park.

5 Year Term
Joyce Stevens
Devon Stout, Chairperson
Sharon Dale
John Fulmer
Lois Curtin
Danuta Majchrowicz

This twelve member authority with representatives from the City of Meadville, West Mead and Vernon Townships is responsible for directing the operations, management, maintenance and promotion of the Meadville Area Recreation Complex. An Executive Director is responsible for overseeing the day to day operations of the Recreation Complex and its staff. The MARC provides a wide range of activities for the area including swimming, ice skating and hockey. Meetings the third Friday of each month at 7:30 a.m. at MARC.

5 Year
John M. Ziegler, DPM
Sue Gaylor
Donna Cessna
David Boughton
Joe McDougal
Gene Wisniski - West Mead
Dr. Paul Oyler - West Mead
John Amato - City
Diane Koller  - West Mead
Roger Gildea - Vernon, Chairperson
Dick Astor  - Vernon
Jay Verno - Vernon, Vice-Chairperson


This five member authority is responsible for promoting the redevelopment of abandoned or unused sites or structures in the city. It also administers the Community Development Block Grant Program (CDBG) to benefit low/moderate income citizens. CDBG funds may be used for housing rehabilitation, repaving streets, sidewalks, code enforcement, historic preservation and recreation. This Authority maintains full time staff members. Meetings the first Wednesday of each month at 7:30 a.m. at 894 Diamond Park. 

5 Year
Donald Rhoten
Joy Sherry
Thomas Cholak
Dan Crandall, Chairperson
Dennis Frampton


This five member authority with representatives from the City of Meadville and West Mead Township is responsible for providing sanitary sewer service to the City of Meadville and parts of West Mead and Vernon Townships. This all volunteer authority is committed to providing the Meadville area with adequate and affordable sanitary service, as well as protecting and preserving the local waterways. Meetings the third Tuesday of each month at 5:30 p.m. at MASA.
See Frequently Asked Questions and Rules and Regulations.

5 Year Term
(3 City of Meadville , 2 West Mead Township)
Ray Andel - West Mead, Chairperson
Dan Rogers - West Mead
Alan McElwain- City
Rich Kebert - City, Treasurer

This seven member authority is responsible for overseeing the public water supply delivery system for the City of Meadville. American Water Services, Inc. manages the day to day operations of the system.  Meetings the third Wednesday of each month at 2:00 p.m. at MAWA.

5 Year Term
Dennis Finton
Timothy Groves, Chairperson
Mark Gildea, Vice-Chairperson 
John Fulmer
Hal Tubbs


This seven member commission primarily makes recommendations to Meadville City Council on items such as subdivision requests, zoning amendments and other planning issues. On occasion, they are charged with drafting documents such as the Comprehensive Plan, Parks Master Plan or Zoning Code. Meetings the first Thursday of each month at 3:30 p.m. at 850 Park Avenue.

4 Year
Lyle Mook, Chairperson
John Kellick
Glenn Tuttle
Alan Shaddinger
Courtenay Dodge
Jim Miale
Jim Budney, Vice-Chairperson


This five member commission determines how the Shade Tree Budget is to be allocated. The budget is expended on planting, removing and trimming street trees. Other projects include a Street Tree Inventory, Treasured Tree Program See Nomination Form and the annual Arbor Day Ceremony. Meetings the second Thursday of each month at 4:00 p.m. at 894 Diamond Park.

5 Year
Scott Sjolander, Chairperson
Gregory Kedzierski
Kerstin Martin
Dr. Ben Slote
Joe Galbo


This five member advisory committee consists of a member of the Planning Commission, a member of the Shade Tree Commission, a member of the Beautification Committee and two members of the community at large. The sole purpose of the Committee is to review the aesthetic aspect of construction projects including new buildings and additions to buildings. The comments are heard by the developer and reported to Meadville City Council.  Meetings when necessary at 894 Diamond Park.

5 Year Term
Jill Withey
Jim Miale
Joe Galbo
Jed Miller
Jim Budney


This five member board was established to hear appeals, variance and special exception requests as provided for in the City of Meadville Zoning Code. Meetings, the third Thursday of  the month at 1:30 p.m., when necessary, at 894 Diamond Park. 

3 Year Term
Atty. R. Charles Thomas, Chairperson
Robert Humphreys
Andy Bacallao
Jonathan Bivens
Atty. Emil Spadafore, Alternate
Jeff Fink


Home History Business/Industry Downtown Parks Health/Licensing Entertainment/Recreation Schools/Colleges/Universities Transportation

The City of Meadville
894 Diamond Park Meadville, Pennsylvania 16335-2603 Phone: 814.724.6000 Fax: 814.333.3353
Web Site Designed and Created by
J.D. Hill, Inc.